Modern Pentathlon


Una pentatleta delle Fiamme oro durante una prova di equitazione

The modern pentathlon is an Olympic sport that includes five events:

- Horse riding

- Fencing (epee)

- Pistol shooting

- Swimming (200m freestyle)

- Cross-country run (3 km)

It is called "modern" pentathlon to distinguish it from the one, which was practiced in the ancient Olympics, and included five different events, namely, long jump, javelin throw, discus throw, running and wrestling.

Italian version

(modificato il 13/03/2015)